Tottenham confirm full Champions League squad for the knockout stage

Spurs resume their Champions League campaign with a trip to San Siro on February 14 for the first leg of their round of sixteen clash against AC Milan before welcoming the Rossoneri to the Tottenham Hotspur Stadium for the second leg on March 8.

Tottenham were already at the limit of 17 non-homegrown players ahead of the January transfer window, and those numbers have not changed since there were two outgoings in Bryan Gil and Matt Doherty and two incomings in Arnaut Danjuma and Pedro Porro.

Doherty was considered non-homegrown according to UEFA’s rules while he was considered homegrown in the Premier League. Djed Spence’s temporary move to Rennes did not have any impact on the numbers since the 22-year-old is homegrown.

Football.London have revealed that Alfie Whiteman has also been added to Tottenham’s squad, along with the two new signings. Here is Spurs’ squad for the knockout stages of the Champions League, as per the publication:

Champions League non-homegrown players: Hugo Lloris, Davinson Sanchez, Emerson Royal, Eric Dier, Cristian Romero, Clement Lenglet, Pedro Porro, Pierre-Emile Hojbjerg, Son Heung-min, Ivan Perisic, Arnaut Danjuma, Dejan Kulusevski, Pape Matar Sarr, Rodrigo Bentancur, Yves Bissouma, Richarlison, Lucas Moura (17).

Champions League homegrown players: Brandon Austin, Fraser Forster, Alfie Whiteman, Ryan Sessegnon, Japhet Tanganga, Ben Davies, Oliver Skipp, Harry Kane (8).

Spurs Web Opinion

I suspect that the main reason that Spurs decided to offload Doherty on deadline day was that they were over the limit of non-homegrown players. Antonio Conte would have had to leave one of his players out of the Champions League squad had the 30-year-old stayed.